Heather Hoffman

United States

Peer Reviews

PROMPT TWO: One day..................

PROMPT: Earth Day Writing Competition 2019

July, Thank you for your passionate essay on how human activity is decreasing the sea turtle population. The facts that you relayed are quite chilling. To have even more of an impact, consider finding numbers/ statistics to reinforce your ideas. By what percentage has the sea turtle population declined in the last 100 years? What about in the last 10 years? This is a great start, and I cannot wait to read the next draft.

over 1 year

I stand tall

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2019

Shaianne, I enjoyed your poem. Keep going! I think you have more to say. Good luck in the competition.

over 1 year

Solidarity

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2019

Quinn, I loved reading your poem. Keep writing, revising, and refining your craft as a writer!

over 1 year

What makes you think it’s ok?

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2019

gwtwgirl, Thank you for sharing your experience. I'm sorry this happened to you. Keep writing, revising, and developing your voice as a writer!

over 1 year

When Worlds Divide

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2019

JP, I enjoyed reading your poem. Good luck in the competition!

over 1 year

Wolves

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2019

Ashlea, First of all, I really like your username. Second, I enjoyed reading your poem. Good luck in the competition!

over 1 year

Politicians and Policemen: The Enforcers Behind Injustice

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2019

veejericaodd, I greatly enjoyed reading your piece. Good luck in the competition!

over 1 year

You can't stop the beat!

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2019

Erica, I enjoyed your piece. Good luck in the competition!

over 1 year

We Know the Arts Matter, So Let's Show the Arts Matter!

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2019

Leila, I was moved by your piece. Thank you for sharing your story and your research.

over 1 year

The Fault in Our Stars

PROMPT: Book Review Competition 2019

Kaartika, This is a great start. Keep revising and refining!

over 1 year

'The Time Traveler's Wife' Book Review

PROMPT: Book Review Competition 2019

AshleighLoe, I have heard of this book before, but I never knew what it was about. Your review really piqued my interest. Good luck in the competition!

over 1 year

"Call me by your name" review

PROMPT: Book Review Competition 2019

Saulele, I enjoyed your piece and I hope I get to read more of your work. Good luck in the competition!

over 1 year

The Day My Life Changed

PROMPT: Book Review Competition 2019

*

over 1 year

Lacy Johnson exposes harsh truths about the world's infinite injustices

PROMPT: Book Review Competition 2019

Phantasmagorical, I really enjoyed reading your review. I am glad to know there are young feminists and activists like you out there. Best of luck in the competition!

over 1 year

Simply by Hitchhiking (A Book Review of the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy)

PROMPT: Book Review Competition 2019

HolisticDetective, I think you have convinced me to finally pick up The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. Good luck in the competition!

over 1 year

The Giver

PROMPT: Book Review Competition 2019

Writing Dragon, First of all, I like your moniker. I enjoyed reading your take on The Giver. Keep revising and refining your piece, and best of luck in the competition!

over 1 year

The Body

PROMPT: Book Review Competition 2019

Mariana, I loved reading your piece. Best of luck in the competition!

over 1 year

"First Reformed: Will God Forgive Us?"

PROMPT: Film Review Competition 2019

Luke, I really enjoyed reading your review. I have not heard too much about this film, but you really sparked my interest. Best of luck in the competition.

over 1 year

Wonder Woman: Relevance Across A Century

PROMPT: Film Review Competition 2019

Kenny, I really enjoyed reading your perspective on Wonder Woman. Good luck in the competition!

over 1 year

Christopher Robin: A Journey into Childhood Wonder

PROMPT: Film Review Competition 2019

Brixilebeux, I enjoyed reading your review. Winnie the Pooh was always one of my favorite characters too.

over 1 year

Experiencing a Torturous Serenity in A Quiet Place

PROMPT: Film Review Competition 2019

cosmiclatte, First of all, I love your name. I enjoyed reading your piece. Good luck in the competition!

over 1 year

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse is A Meaningful Masterpiece

PROMPT: Film Review Competition 2019

Taja, I enjoyed reading your review. You really sparked my interested in this movie.

over 1 year

Dumplin': A Story Of Hope, Humor, And Acceptance.

PROMPT: Film Review Competition 2019

Abbey, I enjoyed reading your film review. I am going to check out this movie based on your recommendation!

over 1 year

Blizzard

PROMPT: My December Writing Competition 2018

DK, I loved reading your piece. I foundit to be very moving. Good luck in the competition!

over 1 year

The Most Wonderful Time

PROMPT: My December Writing Competition 2018

Bekah, I enjoyed reading your piece. Keep revising and refining!

over 1 year

the three stages of my life & the seven rules of pizzelles

PROMPT: My December Writing Competition 2018

she's-got-a-story, I really enjoyed reading your piece. You have a beautiful way with words, and I felt like I was right alongside you making pizzelles. As you revise, try to figure out what you really want the reader to understand about you from your narrative. Good luck in the competition!

over 1 year

December Magic

PROMPT: My December Writing Competition 2018

D, I really enjoyed reading your piece. Good luck in the competition!

over 1 year

Keeping Warm

PROMPT: My December Writing Competition 2018

lsmythbooks, I really enjoyed reading your piece. Good luck in the competition!

over 1 year

Summer's Coming

PROMPT: My December Writing Competition 2018

This is a great first draft. Keep revising and refining!

over 1 year

December Writing Competition 2018

PROMPT: My December Writing Competition 2018

Ponnu, Even though you learned about the competition with only one day's notice, I can tell you poured a lot of yourself into this piece. The piece as a whole is strong, and I think you can make the conclusion even stronger with some refining. I am looking forward to your next draft!

over 1 year

December

PROMPT: My December Writing Competition 2018

Anna Catherine, I really enjoyed reading your piece. I can't wait to read your next draft!

over 1 year

December of a not so popular/mean girl

PROMPT: My December Writing Competition 2018

Skyla, Your piece brought back many memories of what it felt like to be a teenager. Please keep writing and developing your craft as a writer!

over 1 year

My December

PROMPT: My December Writing Competition 2018

Kaelyn, This is a strong start. I can't wait to read the next draft!

over 1 year

Keep Your Opinions Off the Internet

PROMPT: Speech Writing Competition 2018

Grace, I enjoyed reading your piece. Good luck in the competition.

almost 2 years

I am the Earth

PROMPT: Speech Writing Competition 2018

Kate, I really enjoyed reading your piece. Good luck in the competition!

almost 2 years

Perfection Kills

PROMPT: Speech Writing Competition 2018

Helen, This is a really interesting piece. I hope you will consider entering it in a different competition.

almost 2 years

Deleted Piece

PROMPT: Speech Writing Competition 2018

Blake, This is a great start. Keep revising and refining!

almost 2 years

I am a Criminal and I am Proud of it

PROMPT: Speech Writing Competition 2018

Reyn, Thank you for sharing your story! It takes a lot of courage to share, and I know your story will inspire and comfort many readers.

almost 2 years

I Act!

PROMPT: Personal Essay Competition: Making Change 2018

Alexandra, I enjoyed reading your piece. Good luck in the competition!

almost 2 years

Every Voice Should Be Heard

PROMPT: Personal Essay Competition: Making Change 2018

Madeline, I like how you capture an important lesson in your life through just a couple of scenes. Keep revising and refining your piece. Good luck in the competition!

almost 2 years

At the Table

PROMPT: Personal Essay Competition: Making Change 2018

KimberFo, I enjoyed reading your piece, and I was left wanting to learn more about your specific experience. I am looking forward to your next draft!

almost 2 years

“Change my heart” (revised again)

PROMPT: Personal Essay Competition: Making Change 2018

Joann, Your piece is on the edge of something great! Keep revising and refining. I am looking forward to your next draft.

almost 2 years

Everywhere is Nowhere

PROMPT: Personal Essay Competition: Making Change 2018

Andrea, This is one of my favorite pieces that I have read on the Write the World platform. Please keep writing and honing your craft. Good luck in the competition!

almost 2 years

Organically Grown

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition September 2018

Lauren, I enjoyed your piece from beginning to end. Good luck in the competition!

almost 2 years

Sonnet of Fear

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition September 2018

Michelle, I enjoyed reading your piece, and I am looking forward to your next draft. Good luck in the competition!

almost 2 years

A day in nature!

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition September 2018

Reading your piece made me happy. I love that you are reflecting on the simple pleasures that come from being close to nature. Keep building on what you have here!

almost 2 years

Two Different Songs

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition September 2018

I really enjoyed reading your perspective, which is different from many other writers in this competition. Keep revising and refining your piece. Good luck in the competition!

almost 2 years

Koko's Warning

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition September 2018

I really enjoyed reading your piece, and I especially enjoyed your call-to-action at the end. Keep advocating for your beliefs!

almost 2 years

my life is not my life

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition September 2018

Fireye, I enjoyed reading your poem. I am looking forward to your next draft!

almost 2 years

Love comes, never goes

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition September 2018

Shubham, I enjoyed reading your unique take on the prompt. Good luck in the competition!

almost 2 years

hey, rose-colored boy

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition September 2018

I enjoyed reading your poem. Consider reworking your piece with the competition prompt in mind. Good luck!

almost 2 years

A Wild Life

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition September 2018

Buck, I enjoyed reading your piece. Good luck in the competition!

almost 2 years

we be

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition September 2018

This is a great start. Keep revising and refining!

almost 2 years

I Don't Remember Any Different

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2018

Erin, Thank you for sharing your story on such a difficult topic. Keep writing, revising, and refining your work!

almost 2 years

What a 17 year should do?

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2018

Zaid, Keep revising, refining, and honing your craft as a writer. I'm looking forward to seeing where you take the next draft!

almost 2 years

The Art of Personal Growth and Solitude

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2018

Monalisa, I loved reading your piece. I'm glad that writing has been a source of solace for you through some difficult times.

almost 2 years

Ego Death

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2018

THcreatives, I enjoyed reading your piece. Keep developing your talent as a writer. Good luck in the competition!

almost 2 years

Am I a Gift or a Curse?

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2018

Jack, This is a great start. Keep revising and refining!

almost 2 years

When?

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2018

K, Thank you for sharing your narrative. Keep revising your piece and refining your craft as a writer. Have a great time at Shawn Mendes with AJ.

almost 2 years

The Journey Home

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2018

L. Walker, I enjoyed reading your piece. Keep honing your craft as a writer. You have a refreshing, unique voice.

almost 2 years

Imperfection

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2018

EvHoot, I enjoyed reading your piece. Keep honing your craft as a writer! You might enjoy the book "The Gifts of Imperfection" by Brene Brown. Also, consider telling your teacher how much you appreciate her, or even sharing this piece with her. I'm sure it would mean a great deal to hear that she made a difference in your life.

almost 2 years

​The Time My Thoughts Ran Free

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2018

Wishful Thinking, I really enjoyed reading your piece. Good luck in the competition!

almost 2 years

My Mother

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2018

Hi Rachel, It is wonderful that you took the time to learn your mother's life story and captured it in detail.

almost 2 years

Lockdown

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2018

I Like Pie, Thank you for sharing this difficult experience.

almost 2 years

opposite of daddy issues

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2018

Abbie, Your piece captures an extremely difficult period of your life. Your resilience and your skill as a writer are gifts. Keep refining your piece and honing your talent as a writer.

almost 2 years

Second Nature

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2018

Alyssa, I really enjoyed reading your narrative. Thank you for sharing your story. I think it will resonate with many people.

almost 2 years

no hope

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2018

Madison, Thank you for sharing your story. I am looking forward to your next draft.

almost 2 years

A Bad Life: For Dummies

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2018

Won’tBeQuiet, I enjoyed reading your piece, and I would love to read more of these vignettes! Keep revising and refining.

almost 2 years

Middle School Adversity

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2018

Belletrist, I enjoyed reading your piece. I'm so glad that your story has a happy ending and that you found a good group of friends. I am excited to see the next draft!

almost 2 years

Hesperia: Home to Me

PROMPT: Travel Writing Competition 2018

Catlover, I have never been to Hesperia, but your piece made me interested in visiting. You really bring your hometown to life on the page. Keep revising and refining your piece so it can be even stronger!

about 2 years

My Perfect Country Home

PROMPT: Travel Writing Competition 2018

Chiara, This is a wonderful draft. You really bring the reader into your world!

about 2 years

Sea Breeze

PROMPT: Travel Writing Competition 2018

Japaneseprincess, I enjoyed reading your piece. You paint a compelling image Puerto Galera. I hope I get the chance to visit someday! Keep revising and refining your piece. I am looking forward to your next draft.

about 2 years

The sleeping town of northern cebu Philippines

PROMPT: Travel Writing Competition 2018

Chayen, I enjoyed reading your piece. By the end, I was left wanting to learn a lot more about Cebu. Keep revising and refining! I am looking forward to your revision.

about 2 years

Always Home

PROMPT: Travel Writing Competition 2018

Neo, I really enjoyed reading your piece. By the end, I was left wanting to know more about what life is like on a military base. Look for opportunities to bring in more personal details. I am looking forward to your revision!

about 2 years

Down West

PROMPT: Travel Writing Competition 2018

Jenny, I really enjoyed reading your piece. Through your use of descriptive details, you allow the reader to empathize with your feelings of loss and nostalgia. Keep refining your piece! I look forward to your revision.

about 2 years

Before the Conquistador

PROMPT: Travel Writing Competition 2018

Mia, I loved reading your piece. You are gifted in describing imagery and bringing the reader into your world.

about 2 years

Cupertino Travel Guide

PROMPT: Travel Writing Competition 2018

This is a great start! Keep refining your piece and let your voice really shine through.

about 2 years

​The Older But Shorter Sister

PROMPT: Travel Writing Competition 2018

I enjoyed reading about your hometown. I really want to know what city it is!

about 2 years

my vacation trips to san antonio tx corpus christi and south padre island tx last year

PROMPT: Travel Writing Competition 2018

This is a great start! I'm looking forward to the next draft.

about 2 years

A miracle

PROMPT: Science Fiction Competition 2018

Great start! Keep revising and refining.

about 2 years

6,000 Years

PROMPT: Science Fiction Competition 2018

Great start -- keep reworking and revising. Proofread carefully, as the grammatical errors distract from your story.

about 2 years

LiFe oR DeaTH

PROMPT: Science Fiction Competition 2018

about 2 years

Science Fiction - Jared

PROMPT: Science Fiction Competition 2018

This is a great start! Keep developing this idea.

about 2 years

Immortality

PROMPT: Science Fiction Competition 2018

This is a great start. Keep reworking and revising!

about 2 years

The Los Santos Riots of 2078

PROMPT: Science Fiction Competition 2018

This is a great start. Keep reworking and revising to make your piece even stronger!

about 2 years

Immortatlity

PROMPT: Science Fiction Competition 2018

This is a great start. Keep reworking and revising!

about 2 years

Black Mirror Pitch

PROMPT: Science Fiction Competition 2018

Great start! Be sure to proofread carefully, as the errors in grammar distract from your story.

about 2 years

Contentment

PROMPT: Science Fiction Competition 2018

This is a great draft. Your transitions are quite good!

about 2 years

Brimming

PROMPT: Science Fiction Competition 2018

This is a beautifully written piece. Keep reworking and revising.

about 2 years

Vending Chaff

PROMPT: Science Fiction Competition 2018

Great start!

about 2 years

Perfect

PROMPT: Science Fiction Competition 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed your piece. Well done! Keep reworking and revising.

about 2 years

Welcome Home

PROMPT: Food Writing Competition 2018

Great start! Keep refining and reworking. What do you want the reader to think about when they leave your piece?

about 2 years

The Taunt of Hunger

PROMPT: Food Writing Competition 2018

I enjoyed reading your piece and I commend you for opening up about a vulnerable topic.

about 2 years

At The Walnut Table

PROMPT: Food Writing Competition 2018

I loved reading your piece. Keep reworking and refining it!

about 2 years

American

PROMPT: Food Writing Competition 2018

Great start! Keep going.

about 2 years

Once Upon A Grand Summer's Day

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2018

over 2 years

Why We Hunt Black Holes

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2018

over 2 years

Human Heart

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2018

over 2 years

We, the Earth

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2018

I really enjoyed reading your poem. Good luck in the competition!

over 2 years

Find Your Fire

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2018

over 2 years

empty

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2018

Great start!

over 2 years

Stained Glass

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2018

over 2 years

A Girl and Her Lamb

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2018

I really enjoyed reading your poem. Good luck in the competition!

over 2 years

On An October Eve

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2018

I enjoyed your work immensely. Good luck in the competition.

over 2 years

Victory Royale

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2018

Great start!

over 2 years

Fifty-two

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2018

I enjoyed your poem. Good luck in the competition!

over 2 years

To you, the Moon

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2018

I enjoyed reading your poem.

over 2 years

Just a Teenager

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2018

Great job!

over 2 years

Finding My Writing

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2018

Great job. Good luck in the competition!

over 2 years

falling

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2018

I enjoyed reading your piece. Good luck in the competition!

over 2 years

Revolution

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2018

Great job!

over 2 years

Bullying

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2018

Great start -- keep going!

over 2 years

Death Penalty

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2018

This is a good start. Keep doing research, revise, and proofread carefully. Keep going!

over 2 years

Op-Ed Final draft

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2018

You have a good start here. Research your topic further and cite your sources. I am looking forward to your revision!

over 2 years

Positive impact of technology

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2018

over 2 years

Victor Penaloza - Why Plastic Waste in the Ocean is a Problem

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2018

Good luck in the competition!

over 2 years

From Once Shining to No Longer Shining Sea: America's Disgusting Agribusinesses and Agricultural Tendencies

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2018

I enjoyed your piece. Good luck in the competition!

over 2 years

Op Shops: The Way and the Life.

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2018

Good luck in the competition!

over 2 years

Optical Confusion

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2018

This is a great start.

over 2 years

My Choice

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2018

over 2 years

Our School

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2018

I really enjoyed your piece. Good luck in the competition.

over 2 years

#Metoo movement raises awareness of sexual harassment

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2018

Your piece is thoughtful and well researched. Good luck in the competition!

over 2 years

Protest against Trump morphed from racial injustice message

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2018

I enjoyed reading your piece. Good luck in the competition!

over 2 years

School Shootings

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2018

Great start! Keep researching and developing your ideas.

over 2 years

My Dads Persuassion

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2018

I cannot wait to read your next draft. Great job!

over 2 years

Success Won't Make You Happy

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2018

Great job! Keep going!

over 2 years

I'm the Monster

PROMPT: Monster Flash Fiction Competition 2018

over 2 years

The Untold Tale

PROMPT: Monster Flash Fiction Competition 2018

over 2 years

Jumpscare

PROMPT: Monster Flash Fiction Competition 2018

over 2 years

Prisoner

PROMPT: Monster Flash Fiction Competition 2018

over 2 years

Näcken

PROMPT: Monster Flash Fiction Competition 2018

over 2 years

The Creatures

PROMPT: Monster Flash Fiction Competition 2018

over 2 years

White Beast

PROMPT: Monster Flash Fiction Competition 2018

over 2 years

The Outside

PROMPT: Monster Flash Fiction Competition 2018

over 2 years

The Man Out Of Nowhere

PROMPT: Monster Flash Fiction Competition 2018

over 2 years

The Monster Slayer Slayed

PROMPT: Monster Flash Fiction Competition 2018

over 2 years

Son

PROMPT: Monster Flash Fiction Competition 2018

over 2 years

Black Robes

PROMPT: Monster Flash Fiction Competition 2018

over 2 years

Paranoia

PROMPT: Monster Flash Fiction Competition 2018

over 2 years

Your Demon is Coming

PROMPT: Monster Flash Fiction Competition 2018

over 2 years

Factory Farms: Environmental Death

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition 2018

over 2 years

Blizzards

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition 2018

over 2 years

Me, my country and climate changes

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition 2018

over 2 years

Pollution in the environment

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition 2018

over 2 years

Climate Change: The Snow Leopard’s Biggest Competitor

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition 2018

over 2 years

The Feeling of Nature

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition 2018

over 2 years

Water Pollution

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition 2018

over 2 years

Floods in the Amazon Rainforest By: Sarah Irvan

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition 2018

over 2 years

The World I Was Left To Live On

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition 2018

over 2 years

Finding Me

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition 2018

over 2 years

Blue Skies, and Green Grass.

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition 2018

over 2 years

Water Pollution

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition 2018

over 2 years

Today's the right time to make the difference

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition 2018

over 2 years

Let's Kill Pollution, Not The Environment

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition 2018

over 2 years

The Mothernature

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition 2018

over 2 years

No Place Like Home

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition 2018

over 2 years

That Day 3.11

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition 2018

over 2 years

Stolen Innocence; Review of The Heist by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis

PROMPT: Album Review Competition 2018

Your review was thoughtful and well organized. Great job!

over 2 years

"Legend" (1984) - Bob Marley

PROMPT: Album Review Competition 2018

I would love to read more of your reviews.

over 2 years

We Got the World- An Awakening by Icona Pop

PROMPT: Album Review Competition 2018

over 2 years

The Music of Humanity

PROMPT: Album Review Competition 2018

over 2 years

Bad Days and Good Dreams or An Unconventional Review of Halsey's Room 93

PROMPT: Album Review Competition 2018

over 2 years

december project

PROMPT: My December Competition 2017

over 2 years

DECEMBER

PROMPT: My December Competition 2017

over 2 years

My December story

PROMPT: My December Competition 2017

over 2 years

A Perfect Christmas

PROMPT: My December Competition 2017

over 2 years

A Tale of December

PROMPT: My December Competition 2017

over 2 years

Memories Forgotten

PROMPT: My December Competition 2017

over 2 years

What December couldn't be for me.

PROMPT: My December Competition 2017

over 2 years

I'm Changing All The Time

PROMPT: My December Competition 2017

Please keep writing, revising, and sharing your work. I hope you publish many, many more works.

over 2 years

The Tree

PROMPT: My December Competition 2017

over 2 years

Where did December start?

PROMPT: My December Competition 2017

Relish this time with your family, even if it's not as exciting as being with your whole extended family. When you are older, you will miss the days when it was just the five of you.

over 2 years

Seeing in December

PROMPT: My December Competition 2017

Your piece is thoughtful and well-crafted. Keep writing, revising, and publishing your work. This narrative made me want to read more of your work.

over 2 years

December

PROMPT: My December Competition 2017

over 2 years

The Not So Normal Christmas Eve Day

PROMPT: My December Competition 2017

over 2 years

My December

PROMPT: My December Competition 2017

over 2 years

December

PROMPT: My December Competition 2017

over 2 years

December

PROMPT: My December Competition 2017

over 2 years

My December Story

PROMPT: My December Competition 2017

over 2 years

My Favorite Month

PROMPT: My December Competition 2017

over 2 years

December

PROMPT: My December Competition 2017

over 2 years

Suspicion

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2017

over 2 years

The Stars in Her Eyes (excerpted)

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2017

over 2 years

The Animal Children

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2017

over 2 years

Ordinary Girl

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2017

over 2 years

The Beast Awakens

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2017

over 2 years

The Alternate Trials

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2017

over 2 years

Midnight Whisper: Excerpt

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2017

over 2 years

Father and Son

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2017

over 2 years

Befriended

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2017

over 2 years

The Durariun Taxi Cab- 1

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2017

over 2 years

Tuesday and Callahan: Excerpt

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2017

over 2 years

Contrivance

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2017

over 2 years

Forests ~ Excerpt

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2017

over 2 years

Sideways, Chapter 3: City of Snow and Violet

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2017

over 2 years

The Trees Where Red and his Truck Was Sky Blue

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2017

over 2 years

The Chosen One

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2017

over 2 years

The Children of Turefan: Book One, Chapter 25 (Excerpt)

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2017

over 2 years

Monopoly

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2017

over 2 years

Exiled

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2017

over 2 years

The Dream Lottery

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2017

over 2 years

Datadox (1)

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2017

over 2 years

Irvine High Remains Hinman Strong

PROMPT: Sports Journalism Competition 2017

almost 3 years

The eternal finish line

PROMPT: Sports Journalism Competition 2017

almost 3 years

Water Games

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2017

almost 3 years

The Kickboxer

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2017

almost 3 years

That Time The Scientist Really Messed Up.

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2017

almost 3 years

IRE: A Tale of Forgone Forgiveness

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2017

almost 3 years

Man's Best Friend

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2017

almost 3 years

Purple Eyes

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2017

almost 3 years

Plastic Flammingos

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2017

almost 3 years

Stardust

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2017

almost 3 years

the pool birds

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2017

almost 3 years

Bus People

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2017

almost 3 years

Drown

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2017

almost 3 years

I'm good

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2017

almost 3 years

The Lightning Tree

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2017

almost 3 years

The Glassblower

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2017

almost 3 years

Finding Fantasia

PROMPT: Mystery Writing Competition 2017

This is a dramatic story, but the violence and underage drinking side by side may make some of the younger members of our community uncomfortable. In the future, please adhere more strictly to the WtW guidelines. In addition, Due to the graphic violence at the story's close (which is against the terms of our site and may disturb some members of our community), we would not feel comfortable publishing this piece in its current form. We encourage you to look at the Mystery Writing guidelines. Although mysteries often contain suspense and questions of life and death, narratives need not be centered around graphic violence. Our compiled recommended reads is a great resource for the vast terrain mystery writing can cover.

about 3 years

Why did you do it?

PROMPT: Mystery Writing Competition 2017

about 3 years

Published

PROMPT: Mystery Writing Competition 2017

about 3 years

Opening Night

PROMPT: Mystery Writing Competition 2017

Before submitting your piece for final review, remove any gore/ gratuitous violence. Please refer to the competition guidelines: https://writetheworld.com/groups/1/manage/assignments/904

about 3 years

Him

PROMPT: Mystery Writing Competition 2017

about 3 years

where the petals drip

PROMPT: Mystery Writing Competition 2017

about 3 years

Ignatius Kobayashi and the Desperate Fool

PROMPT: Mystery Writing Competition 2017

about 3 years

Story of My Life: Excerpt from Chapter 1

PROMPT: Mystery Writing Competition 2017

about 3 years

Real Dreaming

PROMPT: Mystery Writing Competition 2017

Be sure to remove the gore/ gratuitous violence from your piece before submitting. Refer to the competition guidelines for more details: https://writetheworld.com/groups/1/manage/assignments/904

about 3 years

Dear Darling

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2017

over 3 years

Honey Bees

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2017

over 3 years

Shards

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2017

Please keep writing and honing your craft. Not a lot of teenagers (or even adults) could do what you did in your performance. Reach out to people you trust if your depression feels overwhelming.

over 3 years

The Child Sang as She Worked

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2017

over 3 years

Face the World

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2017

over 3 years

Race

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2017

over 3 years

Being a part of Nature

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2017

over 3 years

Good Morning

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2017

over 3 years

Photograph

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2017

over 3 years

Alone

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2017

over 3 years

The Purpose of Apples

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2017

I really enjoyed reading your piece.

over 3 years

A Spoken Word

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2017

over 3 years

Self-confidence (spoken word poetry)

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2017

Your voice has power. Keep writing, performing, and sowing the seeds of your talent.

over 3 years

Tie Your Shoes

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2017

You are a wonderful writer, so please keep writing, getting feedback, and honing your craft.

over 3 years

Boats

PROMPT: Poetry and Spoken Word Competition 2017

over 3 years

Why we all should use Solar Panels?

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2017

over 3 years

"We Should All Be Feminists"

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2017

over 3 years

Sanitation and Development in Indian Schools

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2017

over 3 years

Should Music/Art Budgets Really be Cut?

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2017

over 3 years

Male, Female and Transgender: Human Beings

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2017

over 3 years

Nate Parker and the Importance of Forgiveness

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2017

I really enjoyed reading your piece.

over 3 years

The Issue of Assumption

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2017

over 3 years

Why Athletes Need to be Paid Less

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2017

over 3 years

European countries are being overloaded with Refugees

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2017

over 3 years

Should Collage Athletes Be Paid

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2017

over 3 years

Legalization of marijuana

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2017

over 3 years

The Persistence of Pseudoscience

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2017

over 3 years

Underpaid and Underapreciated

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2017

over 3 years

Of Welders and Philosophers

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2017

over 3 years

Do you Remember Handwriting

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2017

over 3 years

Divorce, and the Scars it Brings

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2017

over 3 years

Gender Equality

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2017

over 3 years

Identity in Sports

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2017

over 3 years

Sexism

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2017

over 3 years

I'm 14, and my opinion is not irrelevant.

PROMPT: Op-Ed Competition 2017

over 3 years

Desperation, dust and drought: a Kenyan Crisis

PROMPT: Foreign Correspondent Competition 2017

over 3 years

Kuri, the Robot Nanny

PROMPT: Foreign Correspondent Competition 2017

over 3 years

China Population

PROMPT: Foreign Correspondent Competition 2017

over 3 years

The Camera Tattoo

PROMPT: TV Pilot Competition 2017

I enjoyed reading your pilot. I hope you refine it and write more episodes.

over 3 years

268 Miles

PROMPT: TV Pilot Competition 2017

I enjoyed reading your pilot. Please write more episodes, as I would love to see these characters' journey.

over 3 years

Chasing Clouds

PROMPT: TV Pilot Competition 2017

over 3 years

Epidemic

PROMPT: TV Pilot Competition 2017

over 3 years

Aurora 10

PROMPT: TV Pilot Competition 2017

over 3 years

Our World: Before it Changed

PROMPT: TV Pilot Competition 2017

over 3 years

My Love

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2016

Great start!

over 3 years

Fix You - Day One - Sunday

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2016

over 3 years

Evelyn Beautiful Bell

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2016

over 3 years

Silver Crescent

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2016

over 3 years

All About Daisy

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2016

over 3 years

Unattainable

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2016

over 3 years

Unresponsive

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2016

over 3 years

Eldingar

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2016

over 3 years

Light and Dark

PROMPT: Speech Writing Competition 2016

Great start! I look forward to seeing your next draft.

almost 4 years

CHRISTIANS UNITE!

PROMPT: Speech Writing Competition 2016

almost 4 years

Screw Society

PROMPT: Speech Writing Competition 2016

I enjoyed reading your speech.

almost 4 years

Light and Dark

PROMPT: Speech Writing Competition 2016

almost 4 years

Everyone Thinks

PROMPT: Speech Writing Competition 2016

almost 4 years

A Reality You Wished Won't Come True: Unwind by Neal Shusterman

PROMPT: Book Review Writing Competition 2016

Well done! Your review made me interested in reading the book.

almost 4 years

Science and Satan: The Pale Blue Eye by Louis Bayard

PROMPT: Book Review Writing Competition 2016

You did a wonderful job in explaining what the book is about without giving away too much. Well done!

almost 4 years

Cinderella Ate My Daughter: Dispatches from the Front Lines of the New Girlie-Girl Culture

PROMPT: Book Review Writing Competition 2016

I really enjoyed reading your review. It made me want to check out the book!

almost 4 years

Only fifteen

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

Hello, Heartbreak

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

Where?

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

0025

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

PC

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

I enjoyed reading your story. Consider what details might provide more nuance to your characters and get your story to 99 words.

almost 4 years

The 2%

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

Heartless

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

All She Had

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

Rushes

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

I Like It

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

Will you be.....

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

The use of the word "their" in the sentence "I got on my knee, looking up at their eyes" is confusing. If you want to keep the gender ambiguous until the end, consider how you might reword this sentence to avoid using a pronoun.

almost 4 years

Just wait

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

The (Real) Eid al-Adha

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

I enjoyed reading your story.

almost 4 years

Distortion

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

You & Death

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

Sharpened Edge

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

Good Bye Mr. and Mrs. Ray

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

Sehnsucht

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

Channeling Loss

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

Hunted

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

Threnody Of My Own

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

War Hero

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

The Secret

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

The Perfect Pass

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

shadows

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

Log9: Sylitra

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

The Ocean's Beauty

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

Freedom

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

almost 4 years

For Love

PROMPT: Flash Fiction Competition 2016

This story would stand out more if the gender roles were reversed or if the female character were a hero as well, instead of a damsel in distress.

almost 4 years

Dear Father

PROMPT: Letter Writing Competition 2016

I really enjoyed reading your piece.

about 4 years

To Amanda Wingfield

PROMPT: Letter Writing Competition 2016

about 4 years

A letter to myself

PROMPT: Letter Writing Competition 2016

I enjoyed reading your piece. Keep writing!

about 4 years

A Letter To Laura Wingfield

PROMPT: Letter Writing Competition 2016

about 4 years

To The Universe, My Own.

PROMPT: Letter Writing Competition 2016

about 4 years

Dear Marco,

PROMPT: Letter Writing Competition 2016

about 4 years

Dear Sister

PROMPT: Letter Writing Competition 2016

about 4 years

I love you mum, I promise I won't die

PROMPT: Letter Writing Competition 2016

This is a great start. Keep writing.

about 4 years

Three Weeks Ago

PROMPT: Letter Writing Competition 2016

about 4 years

To My Dearest Love

PROMPT: Letter Writing Competition 2016

about 4 years

Two Armed Men in the House of God

PROMPT: Playwriting Competition 2016

about 4 years

Secrets and Lies

PROMPT: Playwriting Competition 2016

about 4 years

FOOD COMA

PROMPT: Playwriting Competition 2016

about 4 years

When Homes Aren't Safe in the United States

PROMPT: Playwriting Competition 2016

about 4 years

Aftermath

PROMPT: Playwriting Competition 2016

about 4 years

Lovable War

PROMPT: Historical Fiction Competition 2016

This is a great start! I'm looking forward to reading the next version.

over 4 years

The Crimson Revenge

PROMPT: Historical Fiction Competition 2016

Jack the Ripper lived in London about 130 years ago, so it would make sense if the CR was established more than 50 years ago, as was specified in the beginning of the story.

over 4 years

The last hanging man

PROMPT: Historical Fiction Competition 2016

I really enjoyed reading your story. You covered a lot of ground in a few short paragraphs.

over 4 years

History Lesson

PROMPT: Historical Fiction Competition 2016

I loved reading this story. Keep writing!

over 4 years

Elephant’s Breath

PROMPT: Historical Fiction Competition 2016

I really enjoyed reading your piece. Please keep writing!

over 4 years

The Débutante

PROMPT: Historical Fiction Competition 2016

over 4 years

Yorktown

PROMPT: Historical Fiction Competition 2016

over 4 years

Segreti

PROMPT: Historical Fiction Competition 2016

I enjoyed your story. Keep writing!

over 4 years

The other side of the story

PROMPT: Historical Fiction Competition 2016

I enjoyed reading your piece. Keep writing and keep getting feedback on your writing so you can become an even better writer.

over 4 years

Dear Cecile,

PROMPT: Historical Fiction Competition 2016

I enjoyed reading your narrative. Keep writing!

over 4 years

“Kendrick Lamar: Is The People's Champion Here To Stay?”

PROMPT: Op-ed Competition 2016

This is a great start. Keep refining your piece to make it even better.

over 4 years

Do Violent Video Games Make Kids More Aggressive?

PROMPT: Op-ed Competition 2016

This is a great start. Keep refining your piece to make it even stronger.

over 4 years

When Does A Halloween Costume Turn Into a Hollow Insult?

PROMPT: Op-ed Competition 2016

You have an interesting take on this topic issue. I enjoyed reading your piece and I'm looking forward to reading your next draft.

over 4 years

Quantum Theory of Gravity and the Big Bang: Right or Wrong?

PROMPT: Op-ed Competition 2016

over 4 years

The First Bell

PROMPT: Op-ed Competition 2016

over 4 years

Stop the Puppy Mills

PROMPT: Op-ed Competition 2016

over 4 years

Computer Games Should Be Used In The Classroom For Instruction

PROMPT: Op-ed Competition 2016

over 4 years

L

PROMPT: Op-ed Competition 2016

over 4 years

Boys in Skirts: A Matter of Dress Code or Intolerance?

PROMPT: Op-ed Competition 2016

over 4 years

Football Is All Bad… Right? I Beg To Differ

PROMPT: Op-ed Competition 2016

This is an interesting read. I'm looking forward to reading your next draft!

over 4 years

Forsaken

PROMPT: Friendship Narrative Competition 2016

This is a great start. Keep working on the pacing of your piece, so that the beginning feels as exciting and tension-filled as the ending.

over 4 years

Bright Things

PROMPT: Friendship Narrative Competition 2016

This is a great start. Keep rewriting and revising to make your piece even better. I look forward to seeing your final product.

over 4 years

A Journal of Friendship

PROMPT: Friendship Narrative Competition 2016

I enjoyed reading your piece. You provided a little slice of life to which most people can relate. Keep revising and working to make your piece even stronger.

over 4 years

Different

PROMPT: Friendship Narrative Competition 2016

I enjoyed your piece. Think through what you want the reader to feel and think about when they finish your piece, and how you can edit, subtract, or add to your piece to accomplish that goal.

over 4 years

Losing It, Lost It

PROMPT: Friendship Narrative Competition 2016

I loved reading this. The ambiguity around why the friends stopped talking left me wanting to read more. Well done.

over 4 years

2 Perfect 2 Change

PROMPT: Friendship Narrative Competition 2016

over 4 years

Blessed, the Befriended One

PROMPT: Friendship Narrative Competition 2016

over 4 years

Mattie Chatten's Question for Determining Which Friends are True Friends

PROMPT: Friendship Narrative Competition 2016

This is a wonderful and unique story of friendship. Look for places where you can tighten up the language and say more with fewer words.

over 4 years

Here and Gone

PROMPT: Friendship Narrative Competition 2016

I really enjoyed reading your story. I'm looking forward to reading the final product.

over 4 years

Love but a Choice...

PROMPT: Friendship Narrative Competition 2016

over 4 years

Friends with Benefits: Movie Review

PROMPT: Film Review Competition 2016

Great start! Keep working on your review to make it even better.

over 4 years

Legally Blonde 2.0

PROMPT: Film Review Competition 2016

over 4 years

All's Fair In Love And War: West Side Story

PROMPT: Film Review Competition 2016

I enjoyed reading your review. Keep writing!

over 4 years

Pixar's Innovative Inside Out is Worth the Emotional Journey

PROMPT: Film Review Competition 2016

I loved reading your review. Keep working to make it even better and keep writing!

over 4 years

Star Wars: The Review Strikes Back

PROMPT: Film Review Competition 2016

over 4 years

Remember the Review

PROMPT: Film Review Competition 2016

over 4 years

Interstellar, the Review

PROMPT: Film Review Competition 2016

over 4 years

moneyball

PROMPT: Film Review Competition 2016

This review made me interested in seeing the movie. Keep working to make your piece even better.

over 4 years

The Butler Review

PROMPT: Film Review Competition 2016

over 4 years

isn't food amazing?

PROMPT: Food Writing Competition 2015

over 4 years

Food for Love

PROMPT: Food Writing Competition 2015

I really enjoyed reading this. Keep writing and asking for feedback!

over 4 years

Adopted

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2015

I really enjoyed your excerpt. It left me wanting to read more.

over 4 years

The boy in the grey sweater

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2015

This is a great start! I want to read more.

over 4 years

Sticks and Stones

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2015

After reading your short excerpt, I already root for your main character. Keep writing!

over 4 years

Inside Me

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2015

This is a compelling start and I want to read more. Keep writing and ask for feedback along the way!

over 4 years

The Crash

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2015

I want to read the next chapter. Keep writing, rewriting, and refining your work.

over 4 years

Wishes in the Wind

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2015

I really enjoyed your excerpt. Please keep writing, revising, and rewriting!

over 4 years

The Creature House

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2015

Your piece reflects your great storytelling talent and undoubtedly a lot of hard work. Keep writing, getting feedback, and revising your work. I want to read this novel.

over 4 years

From Afar

PROMPT: Novel Writing Competition 2015

This is a great start to your novel. Keep writing, getting feedback, and revising.

over 4 years

Our Tall Friends: Deforestation

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition 2015

I appreciated that your essay included both the global impact of trees on the environment and their personal meaning to you.

almost 5 years

Killing Stars

PROMPT: Environmental Writing Competition 2015

I enjoyed reading your piece. Keep writing and asking for feedback.

almost 5 years

blind

PROMPT: Poetry Writing Competition 2015

I enjoyed reading this. Keep creating.

almost 5 years

Road Trip (With No GPS and Two Dead Gods)

PROMPT: Poetry Writing Competition 2015

almost 5 years

When It Rains

PROMPT: Poetry Writing Competition 2015

I really enjoyed reading your poem. Its message is simple and relatable. Keep writing!

almost 5 years

Brown

PROMPT: Poetry Writing Competition 2015

You tackled an emotional subject in this poem with great candor. Keep writing about issues that are important to you.

almost 5 years

Felicitay

PROMPT: Poetry Writing Competition 2015

almost 5 years

Jackrabbit Father

PROMPT: Poetry Writing Competition 2015

Your poem moved me. I am incredibly impressed by how you handled a weighty subject with such beauty and precision. Please keep writing!

almost 5 years

A Lamb Among Sheep

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2015

I really enjoyed reading your piece!

about 5 years

Untitled

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2015

In just a few paragraphs, you tell a moving story about a relatable character. Due to his circumstances, he has not been able to get what he wants out of life, but it seems that you potentially have more choice in your life. Keep working on making this piece even stronger!

about 5 years

Summer Adventure #47

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2015

Your personal narrative would make a great college essay.

about 5 years

Five Lessons

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2015

I am so glad you got through this difficult period in your life. Keep writing and sharing your stories with the world!

about 5 years

Bleeding Out

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2015

I am so glad you got through this dark period in your life and wrote this narrative to convey that experience. Keep writing and improving your craft!

about 5 years

The Night the Kamikaze Attacked

PROMPT: Personal Narrative Competition 2015

I really enjoyed reading your narrative. I hope I get the chance to read more of your work in the future.

about 5 years

The Goblin Naraiyah

PROMPT: Fantasy Writing Competition 2015

This is a compelling first draft. Rework and read through your story again, and ask a friend to review it as well.

about 5 years

Warehouse Wandering

PROMPT: Fantasy Writing Competition 2015

Your story leaves me wanting to read more. While your current ending in compelling, think about what would happen next in the story.

about 5 years

Under The Willow

PROMPT: Fantasy Writing Competition 2015

about 5 years

Scarlet

PROMPT: Fantasy Writing Competition 2015

I think you could make exactly what the Light Bearers do more clear. What does it mean to "bring light?" Do they help people, fight corruption in the government, or something else?

about 5 years

Through Skies to the Blue Planet

PROMPT: Fantasy Writing Competition 2015

I am intrigued to know why Kyle is starting a new life on this planet at 16 years old. Adding this detail could help build him as a multidimensional character.

about 5 years

Bartered

PROMPT: Fantasy Writing Competition 2015

Consider nuancing the two sides. The Blackwoods are unambiguously good, while the Salingers are simply hateful and prejudiced.

about 5 years

Dreams

PROMPT: Fantasy Writing Competition 2015

I enjoyed reading this draft. Keep working on it!

about 5 years

Derinkuyu

PROMPT: Fantasy Writing Competition 2015

I really enjoyed this piece and it left me wanting to read more about this character.

about 5 years

Otto Porter Deserves Most Improved Player

PROMPT: Sports Journalism Competition 2015

This was an interesting read!

over 5 years

Shame, Shame

PROMPT: Album Review Competition 2015

I enjoyed your writing so much that I'm going to listen to this album.

unknown

Music and I as one.

PROMPT: Album Review Competition 2015

I'm curious to know more about the music on the album. You discuss how the lyrics speak to you, and I'm interested to also know what the album sounds like and how the instrumentation makes you feel.

unknown

A Fearless Album

PROMPT: Album Review Competition 2015

I'm curious to know how the album makes you feel. Try weaving your own feeling in throughout the piece.

unknown

Strange Desire-Bleachers

PROMPT: Album Review Competition 2015

I'm curious to know how you think this album differs from the artist's other projects. Is he more open about his feelings? Are the songs slower/faster, darker/lighter? Give the reader a sense of what makes this album so powerful that it could change both your life and the music industry.

unknown

Our Selfie Addiction

PROMPT: Selfie-Reflection Competition 2015

Good work on your first draft!

unknown

#SelfiesAreRevolutionary

PROMPT: Selfie-Reflection Competition 2015

Good work on your draft!

unknown

Are Selfies Really Corrupting Today's Youth?

PROMPT: Selfie-Reflection Competition 2015

I enjoyed reading your draft.

unknown

The Trouble With This Year

PROMPT: New Year Competition 2015

This is a great start! I am excited to read the next draft.

unknown

Under the Spotlight

PROMPT: New Year Competition 2015

You brought the reader into a well-developed scene, steadily built the story's tension, and created a sympathetic narrator. This is a great first draft, and I look forward to reading the next draft. As you revise, you may want to think about tightening the details that you use so that the tension continues until the last line. There is a sense that we know how the story is going to end -- if you let a question drive your story, your ending will have more impact.

unknown

The Bench

PROMPT: New Year Competition 2015

This is a great start! I'm excited to read the next draft and learn more about the characters. I do think there is room to explore more of the details of the narrator's fixation on this past relationship and why it continues to mean something. The reader is still wondering: why do we care about these two people?

unknown